Musings from an Orthodox Jewish work at home mom of twins with Autism Spectrum Disorders.

Poop

Poop.

So Wilma will be 6 in a month and still has never put a poop in the potty or toilet.  Her favorite phrase is “mommy I made a poo poo in my underpants”.  I wouldn’t mind hearing it once a week, but I hear it every day, sometimes multiple times a day.  If she would just TRYYYYY.  I know that neurologically and psychiatrically (sp?) she has plenty going on, but I was convinced that perhaps there was something physical too.  Her nerve endings clearly aren’t wired correctly and I thought that was affecting her.  The school nurse wanted me to bring her to a GI doctor to rule out GI problems.  I was 100% sure she wasn’t constipated, because hey.  She poops everyday.  Multiple times many days.  How can she be constipated?  We didn’t need a GI doc.

The xray proved me wrong.

This week, she’s on milk of magnesia, miralax, and metamucil.  Large doses.  The results have been interesting.

According to the GI doc, if I keep her on maintenance doses through January we can then revisit potty training in January knowing that at least she won’t have all of her business pushing on her rectum and bladder.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

