Musings from an Orthodox Jewish work at home mom of twins with Autism Spectrum Disorders.

Hands To Self

oy vey.  EVERY day at home, Fred touches me inappropriately.  One breast, the other breast, both breasts.  I move his hands and say nothing.  I walk away and say nothing.  I tell him no.  I send him to another room.  I hope it’s a very long horrible phase that will end at some point.  How can a child who can do 9th grade math also be THIS inappropriate?  In my prayers EVERY DAY— please don’t touch your teachers or friends this way.  He has.  He did.  Up till now it was “just” his teachers.  Now he’s touching his female classmates’ breasts.  School is doing a social story and sending home a copy but I need more bright ideas……. I LOVE mainstreaming this child and I HATE mainstreaming this child.

Comments on: "Hands To Self" (3)

  1. Oh man. I’m so so sorry. Hopefully the social stories will work. A doll with big red xs where you can’t touch? A sweater that emits a light electric shock when touched? I don’t know what to tell you.

  2. Yocheved R. said:

    Can he tell you WHY he keeps doing this? I don’t understand what type of feedback is so satisfying that he insists on doing it. He must be getting some sort of attention that he likes from it.

    Davening for you!

  3. no. everytime I ask him a why question I get “I don’t know”.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

